PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from NYC

jbeinhor
01-25-2015, 07:19 PM
Hi all --

Thought I'd introduce myself per Tom's suggestion. I am a criminal defense attorney in NYC and aside from being interested in the subject matter myself, I've been seeing more cases involving laser jammers with clients (everything from run of the mill traffic stops gone very wrong to alleged large scale organizations), so Ive joined the board to learn a little more about the state of the technology.

My best,

JB

curmudgeon
01-25-2015, 07:32 PM
Welcome to the forum. This is the best place to get unbiased information on "parking sensors". I'm surprised that you're running into this as part of your defense practice..........they're not illegal in New York. Are you admitted to the bar in more than one state (or trying cases in federal court?)

Clint Eastwood
01-25-2015, 08:05 PM
Welcome aboard. Laser jammers are illegal in California, but they are under "equipment violation" status, so no one gets a moving or "driver license point worthy" citation. We've actually tested attorney's cars so equipped... :)

jbeinhor
01-25-2015, 08:44 PM
I'm surprised that you're running into this as part of your defense practice..........they're not illegal in New York. Are you admitted to the bar in more than one state (or trying cases in federal court?)

Thanks guys! As far as the jammers, it's not their legality, per se, but the interactions with police officers after spotting them on vehicles and using them as the basis for further investigation during a stop. It's crazy -- and isnt propper grounds for a search or further investigation -- but it happens.

RedRocket
01-25-2015, 09:03 PM
Hi Guy -
Welcome to RALF.

dinkydi
01-25-2015, 09:47 PM
welcome from Australia

NCTundra
01-28-2015, 12:16 PM