PDA

View Full Version : help with installation

ROCKEY
12-06-2014, 07:13 PM
Hey guys, I am new to this whole thread thing. I am looking for some feedback on the perfect placement of 3 ALP sensors on a Toyota tundra. I was advised 3 should be enough to cover the entire front however, not so sure it really covers the entire thing. I can't install between the grille as shown in the pic because it's part of the hood. I am thinking about installing them in a little crevice below the hood. My worry is not having coverage on the headlights since they will be installed lower. Any input would be helpful. Thanks :frusty:

kimberdan
12-06-2014, 09:18 PM
I would NOT put them in the bottom of the bumper, There good but not that good LoL, You would need to put them in the upper portion.... if that is NOT an option then i would suggest putting in the lower and get tested right away to be sure.
But i really dont think there going to cover you down there

Robotpedlr
12-06-2014, 09:29 PM
if the grill is part of the hood...can you run the wires down along the (underside of) hood, down the hinges to the firewall. So opening and closing the hood is an option.

Tman
12-06-2014, 09:35 PM
That would be my pick :

ROCKEY
12-07-2014, 07:20 AM
Thanks. I thought about it and didn't really want to do it that way but, seems may be my best option. Thanks again, this helps

FJR1300
12-07-2014, 07:55 AM
When YC or BRD sees this thread they'll be able to let you know if the lower position is possible.
But, iirc, the center head needs to be on a higher or lower plane than the other two sensors due to interference issues.
One of RALETC guys or BRD will be along to help shortly I'm sure.

ROCKEY
12-07-2014, 08:02 AM
Appreciate the feedback.

vbmx
12-07-2014, 08:04 AM
if the grill is part of the hood...can you run the wires down along the (underside of) hood, down the hinges to the firewall. So opening and closing the hood is an option.